Meet the Queens Courier’s Rising Stars

| |

Former New York Met legend Darryl Strawberry will be honored with the “Star of Stars” Award at The Queens Courier’s third annual Rising Stars Awards & Networking Event, which will be held at 5 p.m. on Thursday, February 3 at Citi Field.
In addition to honoring Strawberry, who is also owner of Strawberry’s Sports Grill in Douglaston, community and business leaders under 40 years of age will be recognized for their achievements. The 40 “Rising Stars” not only excel in their chosen professional fields but are also active in giving back to the community. Neil A. Carousso, a 15-year-old St. Francis Prep student whose involvement includes being an announcer and reporter, will receive the “Rookie of the Year” Award.
Networking and a trade show will take place from 5 to 6:30 p.m., followed by the awards presentation at 7 p.m.
Proceeds from the event’s gift basket raffle will benefit Life’s WORC, which is celebrating its 40th anniversary this year. The organization provides services that facilitate an independent and productive life for individuals with developmental disabilities such as mental retardation and autism.
The platinum sponsor of this year’s event is Metropolitan Hospitality at Citi Field. Additional sponsors include TD Bank, City University of New York, PSCH, Inc., Con Edison, White Castle, Queens County Savings Bank, Council for Airport Opportunity Inc., Parker Jewish Institute for Health Care & Rehabilitation, New York Daily News, NY1 News, the Queens Chamber of Commerce, St. John’s University and Strawberry’s Sports Grill.
Tickets for the Rising Stars Awards & Networking Event can be purchased online at
Anyone interested in finding out about being a part of the trade show or other sponsorship and participation opportunities should contact Maria Romero at 718-224-586, Ext.226.
Queens Courier 2011 Rising Stars:

Elizabeth Crowley

Fatima Henry

Tony Dias

Franklin Mora

Benjamin Levine

Robert Briskin

Jorge Nunez

Udai Tambar

Christopher Tinari

James Bray

Dana Humphrey
Jay Grossman
Steven Morris
Amina Olushola Heckstall
Tina Papoutsis
Julissa Ferreras
Mark A. Fayne
Marie Berninger
Liliete Lopez
Rob Grote
Frances O. Scarantino
David Lilienthal
Jennifer Manley
Lucy Hossain
George Gunter Schmidt
Danielle Ellman
Audra Fordin
Jason R. Blake
April N. Brown
Heather Harrison
Brian Browne
Ligia M. Guallpa
Malikka D. Karteron
Simone Louise Price
Michael Gianaris
Ryan J. Walsh, Esq.
Gregg Knepper
Shavone Hamilton, LCSW, BCD, CASAC
Brooke L. Brown
Rudy J. Breedy